2017 – A year of change

Dr. Aberra Mogessie

2017 is an important year for Earth Science Matters Foundation. First, we welcome a new Board Member, Dr. Gbenga Okunlola who is the new President of the Geological Society of Africa and the successor of Dr. Aberra Mogessie. Dr. Mogessie, a highly appreciated ESM Board Member, has also decided to retire this year from the Foundation.

Secondly, as of 1 January 2017, Courtney E. Jermyn – van der Zee took on her newly appointed role by the ESM’s Board, as the Executive Director of the ESM Secretariat. Dr. Eduardo de Mulder will remain active in the Foundation as a Senior Scientific Advisor to the Director.

Courtney Jermyn – van der Zee

We appreciate all the support and collaboration Dr. Aberra Mogessie and Courtney Jermyn – van der Zee have given ESM over the years and we are excited to see what 2017 will bring!